Its Our February 2023 Thanet Property Update And Review.
31/01/2023 1473

Thanet Property Market Update:

February 2023

·      With the Bank of England raising interest rates and inflation high, what is happening in the Thanet property market?

·      Are properties selling in Thanet? And if so, what is selling?

·      What will happen to the value of your Thanet home?

·      Read the article to find out what is happening to the Thanet property market.

As we enter February, the Thanet (and British) property market is full of mixed messages.

Whilst the Bank of England increased the base rate nine times in 2022, meaning they are now at 3.5% (3% higher than 12 months ago), mortgage rates are now dropping.

The Thanet property market rocketed over the last few years because of the imbalance of the number of properties for sale versus the demand, with many more people looking to move home than there were properties available.

Now, as we are over the first month of 2023, we are experiencing a steadier Thanet housing market, where homebuyers have the time and opportunity to ensure they find the right home for them.

The days of 50 viewers per property on the first weekend of marketing, frenzied Thanet buyers outbidding each other by increasing their offers by tens of thousands of pounds over the asking price has become the exception and not the norm.

I often get asked my thoughts on the Thanet property market (hence these blog articles) and at this time of year, I get asked my forecast for the year ahead.

The one big thing I have noticed is the imbalance of what is coming on the market for sale versus what is selling.

For example, 38.2% of properties that came on the market nationally in November and December 2022 had an asking price of £250,000 or less, yet 45.6% of the properties sold subject to contract since 1st January 2023 have been £250,000 or less.


That doesn't sound like a lot, yet it makes a massive difference to the property market. 

However, it’s very easy to look at national averages, regional averages and, of course, Thanet averages. Yet the property market is just one market nationally, as there isn't just one Thanet property market.

However, the same pattern is seen in the higher-priced Thanet properties. These higher-priced properties are selling more slowly than the lower-priced Thanet properties. Therefore, the need for those larger Thanet properties to be more realistic in price is paramount to stand out from the crowd, especially with the next point.

Evidence suggests there is a growth of Thanet buyers, who are looking to find a home before putting theirs onto the market. This was unthinkable last year, yet as the Thanet property market returns to normality, this will be seen more and more.

What are my thoughts?

Firstly, the time scale of how long it will take to sell a Thanet home.

I expect to see the time it takes to sell a Thanet home increase from 51 days in 2022 to a more 'normal' housing market of around 65 days.


Secondly, the imbalance of the Thanet property market.

A greater number of larger homes in Thanet are coming on the market because (as mentioned recently in a previous blog post) of the higher number of mature homeowners looking to downsize. This is because these larger homes have become much more expensive to heat, and as many of the occupants are on fixed incomes with their pensions, they are downsizing to cut costs 

Thirdly, that brings me to talk about energy efficiency.

Many buyers have started to ask about a property's Energy Performance Certificate (EPC) rating. I recommend to Thanet homeowners considering moving in the spring or summer to have an EPC done on their property now, as there may be points that could easily be rectified and improved from one EPC rating band to another.

This would mean you will get a lot more interest and a better price for your property. If you need any help or guidance in organising an EPC on your Thanet property (even if you are not selling for six/twelve months), do not hesitate to me give me a call.

So, what is happening in the Thanet property market in terms of new properties (aka new listings) and what is selling?

 

190 properties have sold (STC) in the Thanet area since 1st January 2023.

(Thanet being CT7 to CT12).

However, it's essential to look at what is selling in Thanet, and the most active price range is the £250k to £300k range, where 31 properties have been sold subject to contract (representing 16.3% of sales).

Looking at what is coming onto the market in the same time frame …

333 properties have come onto the market in the Thanet area since 1st January 2023.

Yet the price range with the most listings is the £400k to £500k range. Again, this backs up the idea that the lower to middle of the Thanet property market is where the sales are, but the properties coming onto the market are slightly higher in price.

This means those Thanet homeowners with properties in those middle to upper price ranges need to be ‘on point’ to stand out from the crowd regarding their marketing, be spot on regarding their pricing (compared to the growing competition of other larger homes for sale) and now more than ever, their EPC rating (especially if they are on the cusp between two EPC bands).

Before I conclude, you might wonder why I have not mentioned Thanet house prices.

Well, what will happen to Thanet house prices in 2023 is something I am not sure of 

(Yes, I know that level of frankness is strange coming from an estate/letting agent).

I know the prices being achieved for homes in Thanet in the spring of 2022 (when everyone was out bidding each other) are not being achieved today. It all depends how you look at it.

Are Thanet house prices dropping or are they just returning to normal? I would say the latter.

However, looking at house prices as a ‘bellwether’ for the health of the Thanet property market has flaws.  

Many economists and property market commentators believe transaction numbers (the number of properties sold) give a more accurate and truthful indicator of the property market's health than just house values alone.

The reason is three-fold.

Firstly, most people also buy a home when they sell their own, so if Thanet property values drop by 10% or rise by 10% on the one you are selling, it will do the same on the one you are buying - meaning to judge the health of a property market on house prices is very one dimensional.  

Secondly, as most people move up market when they do move home, if the price of the one they’re selling might not be as much as they would've achieved in 2022 (if they drop), the price that they will pay on the one they want to buy will be lower. Thus, it will cost them less to move upmarket!

E.g. Last year, your Thanet home was worth £400,000, and the one you wanted to buy would have been £750,000. Let’s say Thanet house prices did drop 10% in 2023 (which I don’t know if they will); your home would be only worth £360,000. Yet the one you want to buy would now be worth £675,000. So last year, it would have cost £350k to move, but if Thanet house prices drop 10%, the move would cost £315k, saving you £35,000.

Third and finally, moving home is a human thing. Property habitually delivers a robust emotional connection with homeowners - a connection that few would attribute to their other investments like their stock market investments or building society savings passbook.  

Moving home could be described as a human journey, moving from one chapter of one’s life to another.  

Therefore, when people do move home, it shows they are moving forward in their lives, which gives a great indicator of the property market's health.

It’s going to be an interesting year for the 2023

Thanet property market.

My opinion. Do what is suitable for you, your family and your finances.

Ignore the newspapers and look at the facts in hand and if you want a frank chat about the Thanet property market, irrespective of whether you want to sell or not, call me. I might not tell you what you want to hear, but I will tell you what you need to hear.


Please Click Here to link seamlessly to hundreds of interesting community and property-related articles, videos, and pictures on our local blog/property insights page, Thanet coastal interactive tour, Up to date latest properties for sale and to rent, and much, much more.

Before you go we would love you to comment or like this article. Please feel to give your thoughts, helpful comments or even suggestions of articles you would like us to write about.

Leave a comment

Add Comment
Category : buyers

Search